John 14: 1-14

Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you so long, and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I say to you I do not speak on my own authority, but the Father who dwells in me does his works. (John 14:9, 10 ESV)

Allow me the liberty to unpack this.

Jesus is having to ‘defend’ himself to the disciples who have witnessed amazing things! They witness these things and still ask for “The Father”?

How more blind could they be in this moment?

What I really want to focus on is that in the text above Jesus is in the Father and the Father in him, but there is no Holy spirit because He is about to be introduced in verse 15.

BUT…

verse 12 messes me up

“Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I am going to the Father. (John 14:12 ESV)

Wait, what?

We are going to do greater than you?
Is this with Just the Father and You, because the Holy Spirit isn’t here yet!
This must have been what the disciples were thinking

Now we know today that The Father, Jesus and The Holy spirit are all together all the time, but the way Jesus speaks of this Comforter coming doesn’t help us understand who you really are Jesus?

It really is amazing to know that we’ve been promised to do greater things on account of His name!

He has trusted us enough to carry His name to the nations and share the Good news of the death, burial and resurrection.

It is my…your… Responsibility to take this message to all who will listen!

Selah

.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

